Moo Duk Kwan

  1. Laurel leaves – The fourteen laurel leaves on each side represent the fourteen states of Korea and the advancement of peace.
  2. The three seeds joined to the laurel leaves on each side of the emblem represent the “three thousand li” (the distance running north to south) of the “land of morning calm” and its success.
  3. The six seeds in total indicate the world and represent the six continents.
  4. The fist represents Tae Kwon Do and justice.
  5. The Korean character in the center of the circle means Moo Duk Kwan.
  6. The character on the left of the circle means Tae and the character on the right of the circle means Kwon.
  7. The deep blue color of the emblem represents the three oceans and black belts.

As a whole, the emblem symbolizes the spreading of Moo Duk Kwan throughout the fourteen states, i.e. all of Korea, and then across the oceans to the six continents of the world. Moo Duk Kwan, as an international institution, is to achieve the objectives of peace and human advancement as the emblem symbolizes.